Saturday, July 27, 2013

30 minutes!

I ran 30 minutes, without stopping!  I haven't done that in about 6 years.  I was so excited.  I went for a night run that I didn't really feel like doing.  But I told myself I would make it 22 minutes.  At 20 minutes I thought to myself, I can go for 25 minutes.  Then I thought to myself, I'm feeling so good I can make it 30 minutes!

When I ran these 30 minutes it was partially thanks to the perfect circumstances.  For dinner I had pasta.  I ran when it was dark, so there was no sun and less heat.  And I had plenty of water that day.  I know I will have to remind myself of this the next time I run and I can't make it 30 minutes.

I measured the route out on Map My Run and it was 2.5 miles, which means I am running a 12 minute mile.  I hope to eventually be faster.  For now I'm just happy to be running

Running update:  I've decided to postpone my 10k plans.  I am still going to complete one, but I think I need time to get in better shape.

No comments:

Post a Comment