Morning Motivation
(or lack thereof)
Its never easy getting out of bed during the 5 o'clock hour, but I've
managed to do it many times, most of the time since I've been
running. But this morning I did not want to get out of bed. All I
could think about was sleep and coffee. I know training for a half
marathon during the winter will not be the easiest time to do so. But
training for a half marathon is not easy, regardless of the time of
year. Being from the deep-deep south, the gulf coast, I do not know
how to handle the cold. Can I run if it's snowing? What about ice?
(that's a death trap, right?) And its dark for most hours during the
winter! I was looking at a picture I took during a summer run...it
was a sunset... and it was taken around 8 pm. I need sunshine. Of
course, my minor cold does not help with my energy. I'll blame not
getting up this morning on that. And I'll try to wake up early again
tomorrow. For now, I'll drink my coffee, cook some nice warm eggs,
and keep my slippers on.
And what about rain? Some mornings I wake up and it's raining. Ugh.
It may be raining the day of the half marathon and I will run! But
when you haven't paid to run and it's super early and you have no
more bananas to eat, pre-run... it's just hard. Oh well, I can always
run tonight.
When I do manage to wake up early and run I love it. And when I'm
struggling a little I remind myself:
- I always feel better after a run
- I will have to rest of the day to do whatever I need to do
- I can be lazy tonight (after I put the kids to bed, clean up...)
Do wake up early to exercise? How do you stay motivated?
